Raizel (holycow24) wrote in amoeba_music,

New Century Chamber Orchestra with Margaret Batjer

The Grammy-nominated New Century Chamber Orchestra is pleased to announce the next program in its 2007-08 season. The program, with performances in San Rafael, Berkeley, Palo Alto, and San Francisco, features a 17-member conductorless string orchestra with guest concertmaster Margaret Batjer.

Currently the concertmaster of the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra and faculty member of the Thornton Music School at U.S.C., Margaret Batjer has selected a program that traces the arc of 122 years of Baroque music. In addition to such master composers as J.S. Bach and Handel, she includes the obscure but prolific contemporary of Vivaldi, Francesco Geminiani, and the virtuosic son of J.S. Bach, C.P.E. Bach. C.P.E. Bach’s strikingly different style provides a smooth bridge from the late Baroque to the cusp between periods, the Rococo, and brilliantly leads into Haydn’s early treasure, the Symphony No. 8, Le Soir.


F. Geminiani: Concerto Grosso No. 1 in D major
Handel: Concerto Grosso in A major, Op. 6, No. 11
J. S. Bach: Brandenberg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
C. P. E. Bach: String Symphonie in E major
Haydn: Symphony No. 8, Le Soir


San Rafael – Wednesday, November 14 at 7:30pm
Osher Marin JCC, 200 North San Pedro Road
Underwritten through the generosity of Morton B. Blatt and Peter G. Holmstrom

Berkeley – Thursday, November 15 at 8pm
St. John’s Presbyterian Church, 2727 College Avenue

Palo Alto – Friday, November 16 at 8pm
St. Mark’s Episcopal Church, 600 Colorado Avenue

San Francisco – Saturday, November 17 at 8pm
Florence Gould Theater, Palace of the Legion of Honor

Individual and season tickets are on sale now at www.ncco.org and 415.357.1111 or through City Box at www.cityboxoffice.com and 415.392.4400. 3-concert orchestra subscriptions are $114/$75. Single ticket prices for the orchestra series are $42/$28 (a small service charge applies for single tickets). Half-price tickets are available for students. For more information, call the NCCO at 415.357.1111 or visit the website at www.ncco.org.

For more information about the New Century Chamber Orchestra, click here.

For more information on Margaret Batjer, click here.

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic